Special Education Department

  • Georgetown ISD provides special education services to children with disabilities to meet their unique needs.  These educational programs are provided in a variety of settings, including a typical classroom, a content mastery classroom, a special campus placement, the student's home, or a hospital setting.  Students must be identified as in need of special education through a referral and evaluation process.  In to academic programs, the district also provides related services including transportation, speech therapy, occupational and physical therapy, adaptive physical education, individual or group counseling, and a work-study program.

    To qualify for special education, students must have been evaluated in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004, and have a disability such as the following:

    • speech or language impairment
    • hearing impairment including deafness
    • visual impairment including blindness
    • orthopedic impairment
    • autism
    • traumatic head injury
    • serious emotional disturbance
    • intellectual disability
    • other health impairment
    • a specific learning disability
    • deaf-blindness
    • multiple disabilities

    Special education is offered at no cost to parents to meet the needs of a child with a disability, including instruction conducted in the classroom, in the home, in hospitals and institutions, and in other settings, and instruction in physical education.  

    The instruction offered through special education has been changed in content, methodology, or delivery of instruction to address the unique needs of a child that will result from that child's disability and to ensure access of the child to the general curriculum, so that he or she can meet the educational standards within the jurisdiction of the public agency that apply to all children.

    Child Find

    Special Education services are available to eligible children within the Georgetown Independent School District.  The student must be between the ages of 3 and 21 with a documented handicap and an educational need that requires special education.  Children with visual and/or auditory impairments may be eligible at birth.  A variety of placement options are available if found eligible after a full and individual evaluation.  For children ages 3-5 or placed in a private or home school, please contact Emily Fraser, (512) 943-5000 x8531, to set up a meeting or Ashley Peay, Child Find Coordinator at (512) 943-5000 x6812.  For school-aged students attending a GISD school, contact the campus Counselor.

Special Education Department Staff Directory

Title First Name Last Name Phone Email
====Executive Director-Sp Ed / Federal Programs 943-5008
===Director-Spec Ed / 504 / Dyslexia Melanie Kasper 943-5008 kasperm@georgetownisd.org
==District Coordinator 504 / Dyslexia Tammara Ragsdale 943-5000 x6012 ragsdalet@georgetownisd.org
==District Coordinator-Behavior / Instruction Carol Grady 943-5000 x6896 gradym@georgetownisd.org
==District Coordinator-Child Find / PPCD / Pre-K Ashley Peay 943-5000 x6812 peaya@georgetownisd.org
=District Special Ed Admin Asst (Budget / Finance) Ann Allman 943-5000 x6088 allmanr@georgetownisd.org
=District Special Ed Admin Asst (PEIMS / Medicaid) Michelle James 943-5008 jamesm@georgetownisd.org
=District Special Ed Parent Liaison Dawn Jennings 943-5000 x6884 JenningsD@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Behavior Chad Harris 943-5000 x6093 harrisc@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Behavior Candice Mills 943-5000 x6099 millsc@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Transition & Employment Services / VAC / Bridges / Project SEARCH Susan Upshaw 943-5000 x6843 UpshawS@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE Dena Mouton MoutonD@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE Beverly Poehls PoehlsB@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE Betsy Wilson wilsone@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE / IA Jason Adair adairj@georgetownisd.org
Bilingual Speech Path / Asst Martha Unland 943-5000 x6840 unlandm@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Lynda David 943-5000 x6089 davidl@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Laura Dycus 943-5000 x6089 bartleyl@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Courtney Marak 943-5000 x6089 marakc@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Ginifer Pierce 943-5000 x6089 pierceg@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Victor Trevino 943-5000 x6089 trevinov@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Teacher Benita Montgomery 943-5000 x6089 montgomeryb@georgetownisd.org
District ASD LSSP Shannon Waters 943-5000 x6053 waterss@georgetownisd.org
District PPCD Facilitator / Child Find Emily Fraser 943-5000 x8531 frasere@georgetownisd.org
Homebound Teacher Karen Powell 943-5000 x7165 PowellK@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - Elem Abby Kelly 943-5000 x8449 kellya@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - HS Ken Thoresen 943-5000 x7346 ThoresenK@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - MS Tasha Kozak 943-5000 x7728 kozakt@georgetownisd.org
Occupational Therapist Courtney Annis 943-5000 x6808 annisc@georgetownisd.org
Occupational Therapist Lynne Hersom 943-5000 x8413 HersomL@georgetownisd.org
Next
  • Georgetown Independent School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, color, national origin, or disability in providing education services, activities or programs.It is the intent and policy of this District to conduct its activities incompliance with all Federal and State laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, color, national origin, or disability.

     

    El Distrito Independiente Escolar de Georgetown no discrimina a base de raza,sexo, edad, religion, color, origen nacional, o incapacidad en proveer servicios educacionales, actividades, o programas. Es la intencion y norma del Distrito de conducir sus actividades de acuerdo con todas las leyes Federales y Estatales prohibiendo discriminacion a base de raza, sexo, edad, religion, color, origen nacional o incapacida.