Return to Headlines

01/09/2012 - School Board Members Help Our Kids Shine

Georgetown, Texas • January 9, 2012

School board members provide tireless service and countless hours serving the children, parents, and community members of Georgetown ISD. These public servants are elected by local constituents and receive no compensation for their staggering workload. Every January, trustees receive a special thank you for serving as School Board Recognition Month is celebrated in districts throughout the State of Texas. The theme for this year’s School Board Recognition Month is “Helping Our Kids Shine.”

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their contributions reflect a year-round commitment,” stated Superintendent Joe Dan Lee. “In these challenging times, Trustees face difficult choices but their ultimate goal is always focused on the success of every student enrolled in Georgetown ISD.

Board Members serving Georgetown ISD include: President Scott Alarcon serving Place 2, Vice-President Greg Eady serving Place 6, Secretary Sheila Carter serving Place 1, Board Members Fred Barhydt serving Place 4, Arthur Dela Cruz serving Place 3, Mike Hewlett serving Place 6, and Brad Smith serving Place 7.

Image Attached: Helping Our Kids Shine
  • This year’s logo for School Board Recognition Month.

Helping Our Kids Shine

# # #

For additional information please contact:
  • Brad Domitrovich, Director of School and Community Relations
  • (512) 943-1890 •