Special Education Department

  • Georgetown ISD provides special education services to children with disabilities to meet their unique needs.  These educational programs are provided in a variety of settings, including a typical classroom, a content mastery classroom, a special campus placement, the student's home, or a hospital setting.  Students must be identified as in need of special education through a referral and evaluation process.  In to academic programs, the district also provides related services including transportation, speech therapy, occupational and physical therapy, adaptive physical education, individual or group counseling, and a work-study program.

    To qualify for special education, students must have been evaluated in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004, and have a disability such as the following:

    • speech or language impairment
    • hearing impairment including deafness
    • visual impairment including blindness
    • orthopedic impairment
    • autism
    • traumatic head injury
    • serious emotional disturbance
    • intellectual disability
    • other health impairment
    • a specific learning disability
    • deaf-blindness
    • multiple disabilities

    Special education is offered at no cost to parents to meet the needs of a child with a disability, including instruction conducted in the classroom, in the home, in hospitals and institutions, and in other settings, and instruction in physical education.  

    The instruction offered through special education has been changed in content, methodology, or delivery of instruction to address the unique needs of a child that will result from that child's disability and to ensure access of the child to the general curriculum, so that he or she can meet the educational standards within the jurisdiction of the public agency that apply to all children.

    Child Find

    Special Education services are available to eligible children within the Georgetown Independent School District.  The student must be between the ages of 3 and 21 with a documented handicap and an educational need that requires special education.  Children with visual and/or auditory impairments may be eligible at birth.  A variety of placement options are available if found eligible after a full and individual evaluation.  For children ages 3-5 or placed in a private or home school, please contact Sara Windham, (512) 943-5000 x6013, to set up a meeting.  For school-aged students attending a GISD school, contact the campus Counselor.

Special Education Department Staff Directory

Title First Name Last Name Phone Email
==Exec Director - Sp Ed / Federal Programs Tiffani Walker 512-943-5000 x6037 walkert@georgetownisd.org
=Director - Special Ed / 504 / Dyslexia Dana Johnson 512-943-5000 x5008 johnsond3@georgetownisd.org
=District Admin Asst Ann Allman 512-943-5000 x6088 allmanr@georgetownisd.org
=District Admin Asst (PEIMS / Medicaid) Michelle James 512-943-5000 x5008 jamesm@georgetownisd.org
=District Admin Asst to the Sp Ed Director Karen Vaughn 512-943-5000 x6843 vaughnk@georgetownisd.org
=District Child Find Sara Windham 512-943-5000 x8531 windhams@georgetownisd.org
=District Coordinator 504 / Dyslexia Tammara Ragsdale 512-943-5000 x6012 ragsdalet@georgetownisd.org
=District Coordinator-Behavior / Instruction Carol Grady 512-943-5000 x6896 gradym@georgetownisd.org
=District Coordinator-Child Find/PPCD/Pre-K Sara Windham 512-943-5000 x6013 windhams@georgetownisd.org
=District Parent Liaison Dawn Jennings 512-943-5000 x6884 JenningsD@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Behavior Chad Harris 512-943-5000 x6093 harrisw@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Behavior Candice Mills 512-943-5000 x6099 millsc@georgetownisd.org
=District Specialist - Transition & Employment Services
Adapted PE Beverly Poehls 943-5000 x6012 PoehlsB@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE Betsy Wilson 943-5000 x6012 wilsone@georgetownisd.org
Adapted PE Dena Mouton 943-5000 x6012 MoutonD@georgetownisd.org
Bilingual Speech Path / Asst Martha Unland 943-5000 x6840 unlandm@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Victor Trevino 943-5000 x6089 trevinov@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Laura Dycus 943-5000 x6089 bartleyl@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Lynda David 943-5000 x6089 davidl@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Ginifer Pierce 943-5000 x6089 pierceg@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Job Coach Courtney Marak 943-5000 x6089 marakc@georgetownisd.org
BRIDGES Teacher Carter Bowe 943-5000 x6089 bowed@georgetownisd.org
Homebound Teacher Karen Powell 943-5000 x7165 PowellK@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - Elem Abby Kelly 943-5000 x8449 kellya@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - HS Ken Thoresen 943-5000 x7346 ThoresenK@georgetownisd.org
LSSP/SpEd Counseling - MS 943-5000 x7728
Occupational Therapist Courtney Annis 943-5000 x6808 annisc@georgetownisd.org
Occupational Therapist Tonya Torres 943-5000 x7021 TorresT@georgetownisd.org
Occupational Therapist Lynne Hersom 943-5000 x8413 HersomL@georgetownisd.org
  • Georgetown Independent School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, color, national origin, or disability in providing education services, activities or programs.It is the intent and policy of this District to conduct its activities incompliance with all Federal and State laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, color, national origin, or disability.

     

    El Distrito Independiente Escolar de Georgetown no discrimina a base de raza,sexo, edad, religion, color, origen nacional, o incapacidad en proveer servicios educacionales, actividades, o programas. Es la intencion y norma del Distrito de conducir sus actividades de acuerdo con todas las leyes Federales y Estatales prohibiendo discriminacion a base de raza, sexo, edad, religion, color, origen nacional o incapacida.

Contact Us

  • Special Education, 504 & Dyslexia Services

    Karen Vaughn
    Admin Assistant to Director of Special Education
    512-943-5000 x6843
    VaughnK@Georgetownisd.org