Return to Headlines

GISD Education Foundation Honors Staff at Annual Ceremony

On Tuesday, May 8, 2018, Georgetown ISD recognized its Employee of the Year and Teacher of the Year finalists and winners at the annual Employee Recognition Ceremony. The ceremony, presented by the Georgetown ISD Education Foundation, also honored employees who have worked in the district for 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years and 2017-18 retirees. It was held at the GISD Performing Arts Center.

Employees of the Year were selected from among three categories: Auxiliary Employees, which includes custodial services, maintenance, nutrition services, and transportation; Paraprofessionals, which include instructional aides, clerical staff, secretaries, administrative assistants, computer and network technicians, and receptionists; and Support Staff, which include counselors, nurses, diagnosticians, coordinators, digital learning coaches, specialists and others who support teaching and learning.

Employees of the Year were nominated by their colleagues. Winners (noted in bold) were selected by a committee. 

2018 Employees of the Year Finalists:
Yvette Mellado - Transportation dispatcher
Roberto Ortega - Stadium manager, Georgetown High School
Angela Saavedra - Custodian, Pickett Elementary School
Danette Fowler - Custodian, Georgetown High School
Pedro Barahona - Custodian, Carver Elementary School

Karen Ivicic - Special Education aide at GHS
Laurie Lloyd - Instructor at Eagle Wings, child development center
Marvin Goss - Instructional support, Forbes Middle School
Margie White - Copy Center Clerk, East View High School
Alexandra Schintgen - Special Education aide, Forbes Middle School

Jennifer Ashman-Porter - Director of Guidance and Wellness
Cindy Travis - Technology, Digital Learning Coach
Sue Cady - Technology, Application Support Specialist
Michele Heckroth - College and Career Advisor,  EVHS
Amy Heil - Librarian, Wagner Middle School

Earlier this spring, each GISD campus was invited to select a teacher of the year using the Texas Teacher of the Year guidelines set by the Texas Association of School Administrators. Since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year Program has honored excellence in classroom education and provided a forum to showcase many outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve.

The campus-level winners advanced to district-level competition. Nominations were reviewed by a committee and a single winner was selected for both the elementary and secondary levels. The two district winners (noted in bold) will go on to the regional competition, and then potentially to the state-level. The sole state winner is then in the running to become the 2019 national teacher of the year.

2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists:
Elementary Teachers of the Year Finalists:
Amanda Del Conte - Carver Elementary
Stephanie Riley - Cooper Elementary
Vickie Thiel - Ford Elementary 
Amanda Mangelsdorf - Frost Elementary
Amanda Tschatschula - McCoy Elementary
Maricela Gomez - Mitchell Elementary
Rebecca Batlan - Purl Elementary
Nandini Gohil - Pickett Elementary
Stacy Glenn - Village Elementary

Secondary Teachers of the Year Finalists:
Ryne Foster  - Benold Middle School  
Tamara Gandy - Forbes Middle School
Brooke Klickman  - Tippit Middle School 
Jeff Owen - Wagner Middle School
Roy Green - JJAEP Middle School  
Wes Collman - Georgetown High School
Misti Stephens - East View High School
Pooja Khanna - Georgetown Alternative Program
Perry Siegel  - Richarte High School


Click here to view a gallery of photos from the 2018 Employee Recogonition Ceremony.