Return to Headlines

GISD Names Teachers and Employees of the Year

GEORGETOWN, TEXAS –  Georgetown ISD celebrated teachers and staff during its Employee Recognition Ceremony on Tuesday, May 7. At the event, the district recognized employees with 20+ years of service in GISD, retirees, and teachers and employees of the year. This event is held annually in conjunction with Teacher Appreciation Week. 

2024 Elementary Campus Teachers of the Year

  • Amber Sladecek - Carver ES

  • Lesli Brown - Cooper ES

  • Rachel Esquivel - Ford ES

  • Carrie Vogler - Frost ES

  • Darby Derrick - McCoy ES

  • Pam Nickelson - Mitchell ES

  • Amy Munoz - Purl ES

  • Kathy Knudsen- Village ES

  • Haley Schulz - Williams ES

  • Ashley Brewer - Wolf Ranch ES

2024 Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year

  • Ashlyn Taylor - Benold MS

  • Clint Fleming - Forbes MS

  • Linda Ferrell - Tippit MS

  • Michael McCombs - Wagner MS

  • Danielle Kennedy - GHS

  • Jennifer Taylor - EVHS

  • Julie Sammons - RHS

  • Jennifer Larkin - GAP

  • Payton Reagan - STEP

  • Megan Ross - Bridges

2024 Employees of the Year

  • Pedro Barahona, Lead Custodian, Forbes MS - Auxiliary Campus Employee of the Year

  • Max Thompson, Lead Plumber, Support Services - Auxiliary Support Employee of the Year

  • Elizabeth Friedrich, Job Coach, Bridges 18+ Program - Instructional Paraprofessional Employee of the Year

  • Shayla Castillo, Administrative Assistant, Wagner MS - Support Paraprofessional Employee of the Year

  • Charlotte Larson, Digital Learning Coach - District Support Employee of the Year

  • Tara Stewart, Principal at the Successful Transition Education Program (S.T.E.P.) - Administrator of the Year

GISD campuses and departments submitted nominations for teachers and employees who embody the district’s vision and mission. Nominations were reviewed by a committee, and a single winner was selected in each category. 

Campus Teacher of the Year nominations were determined using the Texas Teacher of the Year guidelines set by the Texas Association of School Administrators. Since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program has honored excellence in classroom education and provided a forum to showcase many outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve.

Amber Sladecek, Carver Elementary School, and Jennifer Taylor, East View High School, were selected as District Teachers of the Year and will advance to the next level for consideration by Region 13.

This event is sponsored annually by the Georgetown ISD Education Foundation and supported by generous local businesses. 

View photos from the event here