Return to Headlines

GISD Education Foundation Hosted the 2019 Employee Recognition Ceremony

On Tuesday, May 7, Georgetown ISD held its annual Employee Recognition Ceremony, sponsored by the Education Foundation, where Employees of the Year and Teachers of the year were recognized for their service. Also recognized were 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45 years of service as well as 2018-2019 retirees.

There were three categories for Employee of the Year including Auxiliary, Paraprofessional, and Support employees. The Auxiliary Employees include custodial services, maintenance, nutrition services, and transportation; Paraprofessionals include instructional aides, clerical staff, secretaries, administrative assistants, computer and network technicians, and receptionists; and Support Staff, which include counselors, nurses, diagnosticians, coordinators, Digital Learning Coaches, specialists and others who support teaching and learning. These individuals were nominated by their colleagues and then winners were selected by a committee for their dedication to the vision and mission of the district.

2019 Employee of the Year finalists

Auxiliary Employee of the Year

  • Freddie Miranda, Lead Custodian - Village Elementary School (winner)
  • David Natal - Day time head custodian, Tippit Middle School
  • Maria Pantoja - Custodian, East View High School
  • Karen Smith - Parking Lot Monitor, East View High School
  • Danny Ybarra - Custodial staff/crossing guard, Frost Elementary

Paraprofessional Employee of the Year

  • Lisa Nava, Secretary - Richarte High School (winner)
  • Krissy Anderson - Special Education, Frost Elementary
  • Trisha Gerdes - PEIMS Clerk, Ford Elementary
  • Jeff Harper - Computer Technician, Technology
  • April Pena - Attendance Clerk, East View High School

Support Employee of the Year

  • Jordan Folks - Digital Learning Coach, Wagner Middle School (winner)
  • Patty Bandy - Nurse, Frost Elementary
  • Lisa Carr - Speech-Language Pathologist, Cooper Elementary
  • Alan Oakes - Counselor, East View High School
  • Juliet O’Shoney - Nurse, East View High School

Each year, GISD campuses select a teacher that embodies the GISD vision and mission. This spring, each GISD campus was invited to select a teacher of the year using the Texas Teacher of the Year guidelines set by the Texas Association of School Administrators. Since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program has honored excellence in classroom education and provided a forum to showcase many outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve.

The campus-level winners have advanced to the district-level competition. Nominations were reviewed by a committee and a single winner was selected for both the elementary and secondary levels. The district winners will go on to the regional competition, for consideration to advance to the state-level. The state winner is then in the running to become the national teacher-of-the-year.

2020 Campus Teacher of the Year winners

  • Rebecca Greenberg Barnes, Carver Elementary School
  • Djuana Jadlot, Cooper Elementary School
  • Megan Stevenson, Ford Elementary School
  • Erin Leleux, Frost Elementary School
  • Kelly Richards, McCoy Elementary School
  • Minda Egbert, Mitchell Elementary School
  • Diane Collman, Purl Elementary School
  • Rebecca Kurowski, Pickett Elementary School
  • Brian Vickers, Village Elementary School
  • Terri Henry, Benold Middle School
  • Amy Reid, Forbes Middle School
  • Rachel Butler, Tippit Middle School
  • Rebecca Rawson, Wagner Middle School
  • Shelly Stehling, Williamson County Alternative Education Program
  • Jenny Richardson, Georgetown High School
  • Dawn McGuffin Tatum, East View High School
  • Pamela Ann Tollison, Georgetown Alternative Program
  • Tina McKay, Richarte High School

2020 District Teacher of the Year winners

  • Elementary - Minda Egbert, Mitchell Elementary School
  • Secondary - Amy Reid, Forbes Middle School

Minda and Amy will now move on to compete at the regional level for Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to all of our employees and teachers of the year!

To view photos from the event, please visit this link.